In The Moment

Self Portrait

Tonight I had some of the best moments of my summer. Perhaps only rivaled by a moonlit night on a balcony in Ethiopia.

It happened by accident. Spur of the moment.

I had just finished a photo shoot with a sweet, fun family, and then I took a quick detour by Lake Michigan to try and capture my vision for today’s Instagram photo prompt. (By the way ~ success!)

While I was perched on that cement structure, doing my iPhone thing and taking in the world around me, I realized what an amazingly beautiful evening it had quickly turned into. Since I had to go back to the car for the big camera anyway, I headed up the drive to a favorite wayside, where the real magic happened.

With just, me, my camera, and God’s glory around me, I had the most wonderful 20 minutes.

I plopped myself into the wet sand at water’s edge, and took in the best evening of summer. It was one of those rare, rare times when the clouds are positioned just right that the sunset actually shows beautifully on my side of the lake.

Thunder was rolling in behind me, and the sand was already soaked from earlier rain.

The air was still muggy from the hot, humid day.

Not another soul in sight.

I breathed in the fresh air, and I felt it on my skin. I let the wet sand coat my pants and shoes.

I took pictures until the dusk no longer allowed it, and then I let the incoming rain drops drip onto my skin, before the downpour arrived.

I thanked God for the life He’s given me, the place He’s put me. The gifts He gives that have everything to do with sensory pleasure, and not so much to do with directly furthering His kingdom. Simply because He loves me.

Sunset 1

Sunset 2

Sunset 3

Sunset 4

Sunset 5

Dusk

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands.”

Psalm 19:1

3 thoughts on “In The Moment

Leave a Reply

