Date Night with Miss Hailey

Today I got to pick Hailey up from school and spend the whole evening with her!

20111207-214952.jpg

I can’t believe she’s already in 2nd grade; even though I still like to think of her as my “baby” niece, she’s just a total big kid, growing up more every time I see her!

We had such a great time chatting all the way to Appleton. I made subtle jokes that she totally got, which was awesome, and she just talked my ear off about school, her friends, her babysitter, our family dynamics ~ everything and anything! It sounds nerdy to say, but it’s so funny to see her as this little person with her own thoughts and interests when I’m so used to seeing her as just an extension of the rest of us.

After shopping, we had dinner out at a “grown-up” restaurant. She colored, and pretty much just ate French fries. I didn’t worry about that at all because, hey, I’m not her mom!

20111207-232212.jpg

20111207-232236.jpg

My meal was slightly more balanced:

20111207-232319.jpg

One thing about Hailey, she doesn’t do anything fast. She’s got her own internal clock, and that’s all there is to it! Tonight I focused a lot on just enjoying her as-is, instead of worrying about how long we were taking to do everything. Because, really, why does it matter how long it takes us to do something when we have no place to be? I really enjoyed seeing things through her eyes a bit.

20111207-232538.jpg

On our drive home, we were chatting about all the beautiful Christmas lights, and counting how many trees we could see lit up inside of people’s living rooms, when it just hit me that Hailey is never going to think of me as anything but a grown-up. This is a strange thought to me when I barely consider myself a grown-up!

20111207-232824.jpg

When we got home, Hailey did her homework and then we wrapped presents. Both projects took forever, and that was just fine.

20111207-232928.jpg

20111207-232958.jpg

I just love being Auntie Katie to that little girl!

3 thoughts on “Date Night with Miss Hailey

  1. Aw it looks like you guys had a great time! I know what you mean about it being weird to think of young ones having their own thoughts and interests. These three boys that I babysit have taken an interest in starting a band at the ages of 3, 5, and 9. Too cute!

Leave a Reply

