Our Year at Faith

The front of our church.

This time last year, Terry and I were brand-new attendees at Faith Church.  We had come from another church, and I for one was feeling a bit down about the church experience that I had been having for the past several years.  I felt lost and lonely.  I remember the first day we walked into this new church, nervous and uncertain, wanting so badly to be both accepted and spiritually fed.

The gift I put together for the $5 exchange.

I remember leaving church that first day, hardly daring to look at Terry, scared that he would have a different reaction than me.  Fortunately, we were on completely the same page.  Attending that first service, that first day, felt like coming home.  So many people said hello and welcomed us with genuine sincerity, and I particularly remember one woman, now a good friend of mine, greeting us enthusiastically; we had apparently met once, and although I didn’t even remember that occasion, she actually remembered our names.

All wrapped up and ready to go.

In the past year, we have discovered a world that we didn’t even know existed.  A group of loving people who truly go through life together ~ not pretending things are perfect but simply sharing the ups and downs.  A church that makes it so easy to get involved, to serve.  And a church that so willingly serves us and our needs.  When we decided to make Faith Church our home, we met with Pastor Jeremy, the head pastor, and after sharing our story with him, he finally gave me a word for the thing I had been craving for so long: discipleship.

Some of the ladies.

In the past year, my faith has grown in leaps and bounds.  I’ve had the opportunity for Christian counseling, and I’ve met more people and made more friends than I can count.  Terry and I spent years feeling unsure of where we fit, with most of our friends from school having left the area, and I feel as though our prayers have been more than answered.  Right now, I’m in the middle of a nine month course in which I’m exploring all the “ick” that I carry around with me; I’m being discipled at the very nature of the word.

I drew #31 out of 34.

Last Friday, I attended our church’s annual ladies Christmas event.  I’m going to go ahead and say, it wasn’t the most exciting time I could have imagined!  But I went, by myself; I mingled, I participated and I got involved.  And I was glad.  I have an overwhelming thankfulness and sense of fulfillment to be a part of this church family.  I feel that I am right where I am supposed to be, finally.  And I’m looking forward to the future here.

I went home with the prize I had my eye on!

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith, and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God.”

~ Ephesians 2:8

15 thoughts on “Our Year at Faith

  1. Thank you for sharing your experience, Katie. Will & I went through something VERY similar upon our move to Orlando– finding a church was hard (especially as new Christians.) There are just so many different fits and finding the one that you belong at takes a lot of patience and determination.

    Fellowship is SO important, and I’m glad that you’re feeling like you found a “church family” of your own 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Will to be Social « Katie Without Restrictions

  3. Pingback: Katie Without Restrictions

  4. Pingback: In The Wilderness Place « Katie Without Restrictions

  5. Pingback: Winter in Spring « Katie Without Restrictions

  6. Pingback: Character Development « Katie Without Restrictions

  7. Pingback: Books, School, and Dessert Theater! « Katie Without Restrictions

  8. Pingback: Anointed « Katie Without Restrictions

Leave a Reply

