Family Girls’ Night

Well, I know you’re all dying to know, so I won’t keep you in suspense any longer ~ the exams of the morning went pretty well!  This was definitely my first experience of having two exams literally back-to-back, and I’m not gonna lie, I wasn’t a fan.  They were also both first exams with professors I haven’t had before, so I didn’t know what to expect with either.  But – pending the receipt of actual scores, of course! – I’m feeling decent about both.  Hurray!

The rest of today has gone down in a haze of sleepiness, and for this evening I have big plans of housework and then early to bed!  And tomorrow, my body is in desperate need of a workout and some healthy food my friends.

I briefly mentioned in my post over the weekend that I spent Saturday night at my Aunt Julie’s house for a family girls’ night.  All of my aunts, my grandma, my adult female cousins, and my Mom and sister were there.  For the past three years, we’ve been doing this once a year ~ last year was at my place, which I loved!  This year, I didn’t have to host, and I’ll admit, I loved that too…!  When we get together for these girls’ nights, it’s all about yummy food (waaay too much of it!), games, catching up, and lots of noise and laughter.

Aunt Julie, our hostess

In the midst of the business – not only this crazy semester, but things always seem busy for everyone! – I have a tendency toward wanting to avoid any and all social activities and interactions.  A couple of years ago, when I was on the brink of canceling evening plans with girlfriends after a super long day, my lovely husband told me (rather bluntly!) that I needed to just go, and I would be happy that I did.  And of course, he was right!  (Don’t tell him!!)  Ever since then, when I’ve felt the urge to back away from social events, I think about that little piece of advice, and I really weigh whether I legitimately could use time at home or whether I’m simply feeling sorry for myself and looking to curl into a ball.

Mom with my cousin, Kylie

This year’s girls’ night was exactly what I needed!  Does anyone besides me think that family is simply fantastic?  Mine is, at any rate.  Sure we drive each other nuts at times, and we certainly each have our own quirks that probably annoy the others, and we don’t share all of the same values but at the same time…  These women just know me.  And I know them.  They get me and accept me, and it’s such a blessing.  What better way to unwind than with people who have no judgements?  I can’t really think of any!

me and my see-stor!!

As a bonus, Jaime brought Hailey to town with her and they slept over at our house, so Hailey got to spend the evening with Uncle Tes!  I’m pretty sure those two crazy kids participated in every form of entertainment that Manitowoc has to offer, and indulged in every sugary treat they came across.  It’s a good thing this doesn’t happen too often ~ Uncle Tes and I would be broke!

best buddies, and partners in crime!

*Girls’ night photos “borrowed” from Jaime’s Facebook page ~ I was a total slacker on the girls’ night photography!

Do you have regular get-togethers with your family?  What do you do?

3 thoughts on “Family Girls’ Night

  1. You are right, we are blessed to have great family, including sisters in laws, aunts, cousins, and nieces- loving, non judgemental, accepting, and supportive.

  2. sounds like such a blast, katie! 🙂 it’s been a long time since i’ve hung out with your family, but when we used to spend more time together, i always liked seeing your mom, sister, & the rest of your fam!

Leave a Reply

