My Plate Day

Today, an article came to my inbox from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (formerly the American Dietetic Association) that I wanted to quickly share!

The article, a news release from the USDA, announces that tomorrow has been declared “What’s On My Plate Day” in conjunction with the newer My Plate model.

The part I found the most exciting is that the goal of this day seems to be a social media blitz, utilizing the different sites to raise awareness and share pictures.  To participate, people will be uploading photos of their plates all day to show the food choices they are making.  Twitter in particular seems the place to be tomorrow, uploading your photos and joining in the conversation with #myplate; even if you don’t share any photos, you can still follow along!

Ultimately, the goal of the day is to raise nationwide awareness about food choices, and to encourage people to “enjoy their food, but eat less”.  Personally, I’m excited to see all the food-tastic pictures!!

Are you going to participate?  What will be on your plate?

4 thoughts on “My Plate Day

  1. I totally agree; by eating less, we can still eat the foods we love, but less of them. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Leave a Reply

