Beating Self-Defeat

One of my goals this week during my Weeklong Recharge is to hit the gym and hit it hard.  During the semester I spend so much time sitting between class, driving, and homework, and the workouts I do are squeezed into my schedule and often not as long as I would like them to be.  I’m hoping that by really pushing myself this week I’ll get my body (and mind!) into a better habit of getting those workouts in when I’m back in class.

I went to the gym this morning with the intent of doing 10 minutes on the stationary rowing machine, in addition to the rest of my workout.  I don’t know about anyone else, but when it comes to working out I am very much a creature of habit.  The elliptical is my “comfort zone”, and I would happily spend all my cardio time there, all the time.  However, I know that this is not really doing my body any favors, so I’m slowly building up my repertoire; ultimately I’d like to spend my cardio time rotating between 3-ish machines, and hopefully doing different circuits on different days.  This means I’ve got a lot of branching out to do!

All this to say that by the time I hopped on that rowing machine this morning, I had already done 25 minutes on the elliptical, and my legs were feeling it.  By the time the timer was nearing 5 minutes, I could already hear the voice in my head: “Maybe you could just do 6 minutes today, and work your way up.”  “It’s not like you have to do 10 minutes.”  “This is hard!”  My self-defeating attitude was kicking in.

In the past I have definitely given in to that voice, and let’s be honest, I probably will again in the future.  It’s in my nature, one of my personal battles.

But today, I am happy to announce that I kicked self defeat in the butt!  I countered my negative self-talk with some positive, and reminded myself that I had made a commitment to myself which I intended to keep.  And you know at the end of that 10 minutes I was feeling pretty darn proud!

It’s one small step, but it’s a step.  Today I told myself ~ and showed myself ~ that I deserve to keep my promises, because I am worth it.

Do you ever have self-defeating attitudes?  How do you beat them?

10 thoughts on “Beating Self-Defeat

  1. Way to go!! That is incredible, because I can’t even get myself to go to the gym! I was in such a good habit of going every day, then something stopping clicking, and it’s been over a year and a half since I’ve been. I want to go, but when the alarm goes off, I can’t make myself do it! I don’t handle self-defeat really well. I usually grab a gallon of ice cream or a glass of wine! 😉

    • Thanks! I had a similar experience where actually I haven’t been regularly going to the gym since about three years ago ~ same thing, I had been going and loving it, and suddenly it just stopped. I’ve been battling that alarm clock thing since about Thanksgiving, and now in the past few weeks it’s finally been clicking for me again, this time the right way!

    • Thank you so much!! I agree, such a tough habit, but I’ve started asking myself what in me does not want me to succeed. I haven’t figured out the answer yet, but even the awareness seems to at least be helping!

    • I’m terrible at having an accountability partner ~ I’m definitely more of a loner when it comes to working out! I agree that setting goals can definitely help though.

  2. First of all – good for you for not giving in! I love reading these kinds of posts on your blog because I have struggled for years with working out & my weight – largely due to two things….that terrible voice in my head & my stupid hormones that screw up my metabolism (and because I know how screwed up it is, I let that voice in my head win because I believe that no matter how hard I work nothing will ever change.) Ugh. What an ugly cycle. Thanks for being so honest!

    • That voice in our heads is so awful, and yet it can be so powerful! Thanks for the encouragement. Sometimes I feel like, who cares about my 10 minutes?? But I know if I’m going through it, plenty of other people are too!

Leave a Reply

