The Journey to 1,000

I’ve mentioned here and there that I’ve been reading a fantastic book lately, and I’m finally getting around to telling you about the experience!

#1: The smell and anticipation of coffee on an incredibly sleepy morning.

Back in February, an acquaintance of mine put out a question on Facebook to find out if any of her friends were interested in doing a book club, working through a book a couple of chapters at a time. I’ve been wanting to join a book club for about forever, but I simply don’t have the time right now to read an entire book in a month (usually!) ~ this was exactly the chance I had been looking for! I would have joined pretty much whatever the circumstances! It turned out to be one more fantastic choice in a series of fantastic choices that have come along lately.

#26: The satisfaction of deleting homework items from my calendar (my version of checking them off the to-do list!).

It turned out that only one other person was able to commit, and from there our little club was born. Alyssa, Sara, and I all knew each other before this started, but only “surface-y”. Several months in, I’m feeling so very blessed to be sharing pieces of our lives together.

#41: Date nights with my lovey!

We’re reading One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp, and I’m not exaggerating when I say that the experience has been life changing for all of us. We’ve ended up choosing to read only one chapter every two weeks so that we can spend our entire evening when we get together going through just one chapter.

#74: A freshly-opened jar of almond butter.

We’re learning to live life in the moment. To fully commit to whatever is happening right now. To see grace and God in the smallest of moments, and to view the gift in all of it. I’m a different person than I was, and it’s amazing.

Track with me as I list 1,000 gifts in my everyday life.

What have you been doing lately to grow, and stretch the boundaries of who you’ve been?

9 thoughts on “The Journey to 1,000

    • I would absolutely recommend this book to anyone! Although the group discussions are definitely enhancing it for me, I think that the book would certainly stand up and be impactful on its own.

      Yes, I am absurdly busy… Usually I like it but sometimes I go a little crazy! 😉

    • It’s been a great book for me ~ I can’t believe how much I’ve been learning, growing, and changing, and the relationship building has been amazing.

  1. Pingback: Along the Way « Katie Without Restrictions

Leave a Reply

