Wonderful Weekend

This weekend was wonderful. I relaxed, and I reveled in my summery, non-student status.

On Friday I decided to take an impromptu trip down to Milwaukee for some much needed Trader Joe’s time ~ I hadn’t been since January and I desperately needed to stock up! Thankfully, I am now all set in that department. With Terry out of town all last week, Friday night consisted of cleaning out the fridge. I can’t lie though ~ it was a pretty pleasant evening!

Saturday morning I was up and at it early for a trip to the Farmer’s Market ~ the first of the season! Our Market is pretty small this time of year, but I did grab some tomato plants, and basil and parsley plants, plus a tiny cactus for a project that I’m plotting. I also grabbed two huge bags of fresh spinach!

The rest of the day was errands + laziness + office work.

Then this happened. And it was awesome.

After Trader Joe’s and the Farmer’s Market, I had some new deliciousness to try out, and it all came together Saturday night in this awesome salad. I started with a pile of fresh spinach and topped it with quartered and seared mini cucumbers and warmed mini heirloom tomato halves. That was all topped with reduced balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper, and a few torn fresh basil leaves. All served with a goat cheese medallion on the side. So, so good. Seriously good.

Sunday morning I was up way to early, but luckily for a good cause!

After a much needed caffeine pit-stop, I hit the road for Green Bay. One of our new friends from last month’s marriage retreat was running in the Cellcom race, and since they don’t live very close by I didn’t want to pass up the chance to see them! I got to spend time with Tanya and their kiddos while we watched for Trevor to finish his leg of the race. Such a fun time!

And then… Terry came home!! Finally. We spent the afternoon and evening catching up and bumming around, and generally taking it easy.

What did you do this weekend?

5 thoughts on “Wonderful Weekend

    • Thanks Mom! I did mostly keep busy, and it was nice. 🙂

      I’m pretty excited about the terrarium! That book I got from the library has tons of awesome ideas and info.

  1. Pingback: Along the Way « Katie Without Restrictions

Leave a Reply

