Along the Way

“To give thanks is an action and rejoice is a verb and these are not mere pulsing emotions.”

~Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts: A Dare To Live Fully Right Where You Are

Lately, I’ve been stuck. I feel like I’m always saying this, but isn’t it always true? To a certain extent, we get recharged, we move forward in joy, in fresh newness, and then slowly, so slowly we hardly notice it, we’re back where we started.

Taking time for quiet time.

When I started my journey to 1,000 gifts, I was all in. Counting the gifts that God lays out before me each day? No brainer! Making a list, displaying it for both myself and others to see, what could be better? How could this not show me the joy, the purpose, the gift in each moment?

Well, I guess that’s the nature of me, and maybe of life? I’m forgetful. I carry on, and I forget the purpose of my journey, and I forget the gloriousness that is the gift of each moment. The unexpected, undeserved surprise that I get another moment, and another, and that beyond simply having the moments, that so many of them are filled with good.

Postcards from my love while he was away for work.

The quote at the top of the page is from this week’s reading for book club, and it’s a line that particularly stood out to me. I don’t have to feel thankful to give thanks; I don’t have to feel joyful to rejoice. Both are actions, and I’m the choice-maker. In each moment, what will I choose?

A mama duck with one precious little duckling, on a very early Saturday morning.

I looked back over my list after finishing up today’s chapter, and I realized that it had been 18 days since I added one single gift. Before that addition ~ 6 days. I have wallowed in my busy-ness, in my seeking and my ignoring, and my living for me and my living in fear, and I have not chosen to rejoice anyway. Today I added 12 gifts, with intention and purpose.

My Chobani winnings ~ such excitement to find this on my doorstep!

The photos in this post are all moments from the past 18 days. While writing this post, I looked through my camera roll on my phone to see what was there, and I found that I had captured many, many moments through my lens, many, many gifts. I have been seeing, but not naming.

As I move forward from this moment, it is with new intention. To name the gifts, and to choose the rejoicing. Will I slip again? Undoubtedly. Is it still worth the effort? Absolutely.

What gifts have you noticed in your life recently?

2 thoughts on “Along the Way

  1. I love what you wrote about Giving thanks and joy. That’s what my choose joy plaque on my mantel reminds me about.

Leave a Reply

