WIAW: Anniversary Eats

Last week Terry and I spent a night in Madison celebrating our fourth wedding anniversary. On Monday, I shared some photos of our anniversary traditions and our adventures in Madison, and today I have some pictures of the fantastic food that we ate while there!

As soon as we pulled in to Madison on Thursday afternoon, we headed straight to the Daisy Cafe and Cupcakery for lunch. The big draw to me was that Daisy has a huge case of fresh, made from scratch daily cupcakes. Swoon! For lunch, I had an egg strata which honestly was just a bit eh. I did take a cupcake to go (see below!), and that was definitely fantastic!

For our anniversary dinner, I did a little research ahead of time, and I decided to roll with the Dayton Street Grille. Dayton Street has an amazing chef, and much of the menu is sourced locally; the menu lists the specific farm that the main part of each dish comes from, which is one of my priorities in choosing a restaurant. If only we had anything like that to choose from back home!

The other thing that jumped out at me about Dayton Street is that each of their entrees is served with a trio of sauces to compliment the dish. I do love sauces! I started with an (unpictured) cup of curried butternut soup which was a little spicy for me but otherwise really good. For my entree, I went with cabernet braised short ribs, served with wild rice risotto fritters on top of balsamic and garlic cream. My sauces were gorgonzola cream, smoked onion marmalade, and salsa verde; I loved the gorgonzola cream, but I was thrown off by the cold onions, and the salsa verde was delicious but I just didn’t think it went with my meal.

Then we had anniversary dessert! Terry decided to go with just the buttermilk ice cream, which had been listed as an accompaniment to one of the desserts on the menu, and they served it up with a trio of chocolate, caramel, and raspberry sauces. I went with an amazing chocolate cheesecake, which was also served with those same three sauces. Yum!

Friday morning, we headed to Lazy Jane’s Cafe for a late morning breakfast. I had been to Lazy Jane’s last fall with Sarah, and I knew instantly that I would be back! I had the SCC: scrambled eggs with cream cheese and scallions, plus potatoes and sourdough rye toast, topped with two different kinds of homemade jam! Just basic, delicious food. Terry went with the top option of eggs, potatoes, and toast, and he enjoyed his as well. I love the quirky atmosphere at Lazy Jane’s!

Friday afternoon we had a completely unpictured but totally delicious ice cream cone down at the University Union while we walked by the lake.

Since an ice cream cone does not make a very good lunch, dinner was a bit early; this worked out perfectly since we had to make the drive home that evening anyway. For Friday’s dinner we headed to Graze, another restaurant that emphasizes locally sourced ingredients. Sadly, Terry was less than impressed, but I really liked it! We shared an order of Sassy Cow Cheese Curds with house-made ranch, and then we both had a cheeseburger (his with bacon, mine without). The fries were served with a house-made garlic aioli, and I really thought everything was delicious! Since we were there at a weird time between lunch and dinner, we had a really limited menu to choose from ~ I’m hoping we can go back sometime for their full menu with better results for both of us!

And as promised ~ the treat that I brought home with me from Daisy Cafe:

Linked to: What I Ate Wednesday

7 thoughts on “WIAW: Anniversary Eats

  1. Pingback: Anniversary in Madison « Katie Without Restrictions

    • Well, the menu we had during their “off” hours was really, really limited… I think he would like it with more selections! And yes, I put a lot of work into making sure we ate well. 🙂

    • Thanks, it really was a wonderful ~ and delicious! ~ little getaway. The cupcake was lemon with a blueberry buttercream and it was so yum! And this from a girl who typically goes for any and all things chocolate!

Leave a Reply

